top of page

Pearl's 2nd foal is born

Early this morning, when I went to check on Pearl, it was extrremely foggy. Due to the many many times I'd checked on her and there was nothing, I decided to leave my phone behind, needless to say, that wasn't my wisest decision. When I came around the corner, the horses was standing in the other end of the pasture, and even though the pasture was small, it was too foggy to see them clearly. Pearl was standing with her side towards me, and I couldn't agree with myself whether there was standing something in front of her, or it was the branches behind her I could see under her, but without going to check further, something made me run like the devil was after me. I ran on all four up the stairs and stubled across the hallway til I reached Michael. I yelled "Foal, there's a foal", without even knowing if there actually was a foal, and first when we were on our way downstairs, I managed to say "Well, I think there's a foal - It's foggy".

I'm not sure Michael was all happy with me, but we went down anyways, grabbed the camera, and as we walked towards them it became clear that next to Pearl there was a new little beauty. From a distance she looked black tobiano, but as we came closer it was abvious that she was buckskin tobiano. Dark baby blues, black muzzle and a gorgeous dark creamy color. Her unique pattern and facial marking stunned us, and we were both in awe of our new wonder, and as expected, so was Pearl.

When we reached them, Pearl was still shaking, from giving birth, but she was all over Citrine, nursing her and later keeping us at a distance from her. Very much different from when we said goodnight, and she followed us around like a puppy.

We checked for gender and all we saw was a rectum, and then it was time to find a good name for a little boy. When Amber was born, the name came to us right away, but with this new colt it wasn't as easy, even though we'd made a list and all. We knew it has to be a gem, but which?

A few hours later we sat in the grass watching them and talking about names. As they walked past us I suddently saw that something was wrong. It was a filly! Yep, a mistake that happens to the best of us...At least that's what we'd like to think.

And so the namesearching had taken a turn. We finally agreed on Citrine, even though I have a hard time getting the words over my lips, but hopefully that'll change, if I just say it enough times.

Citrine has shown both flatwalk and runningwalk, and seems to be a natural - Headnod and all. She is more sturdy build than her sister, and appears to be both taller and wider. We have high hopes for our new little girl.


Udvalgte blogindlæg
Seneste blogindlæg
Arkiv
Sorter efter tags
Ingen tags endnu.
Følg os
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page